Pablo Picasso

I think it is fair to say my lino prints took inspiration slightly of Picasso’s portraits in the way that he simplifies the form and puts a distortion on reality.

 

 

After completing my lithography workshop I noticed some similarities between my portrait and the portraits of Picasso, with the use of simple lines and inaccuracy. I wanted to take this on further so for my final Field piece I decided to use a similar technique and produced simplified versions of reality. I didn’t want my prints to be Cubist by nature but I love the way in which Picasso enlarges certain areas so inaccurately, which leads to them being highlighted. Picasso’s technique translated into my own work, I believe, is beneficial for my Outside/Inside work in highlighting my Nan’s deterioration in mental health.

 

Bibliography:

http://www.boredpanda.com/pablo-picasso-self-portrait-style-evolution/

https://www.masterworksfineart.com/artist/pablo-picasso/pablo-picasso-ceramic-plaque-fluffy-haired-woman-femme-au-cheveux-flous-1964-red-earthenware-clay-rectangular-plaque/

Author: eviebanksart

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

