Lightbulb Portraits

After the slip casting workshop I had several lightbulbs to create a piece of work out of. I decided to paint my Nan’s portraits onto them and have the background of each progressing closer and closer towards black to signify the loss of mentality in my Nan’s mind. The play by using lightbulbs is that the light is going out.

Although I like the basic idea of using colour to signify the loss in identity and it is something that I will continue to explore within my work, I don’t really like this final piece as I think it is a bit too cliché. The board in which I attached them to was shabby ineffectual for the bulbs, dulling their outcome. Additionally, the portraits look out of place against the lighter backgrounds and I think the lightbulbs could have been displayed in a more effective format. For instance, I think it would have been more compelling to have them hanging from the ceiling, mirroring real lightbulbs.

7A6C0E6B-68E4-44F9-BA1F-F69A17638093

Author: eviebanksart

BA (Hons) Fine Art Student at Cardiff Metropolitan University

Leave a Reply

